Prison is the best punishment for criminals. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Sending people who commit a crime to jail is one of the ways to punish them and, after punishment, return them to society. However, I believe that it is not the number solution to tackle crime or educate criminals in order to avoid wrongdoings. I think that some criminals should be forgiven or fined instead of being sentenced. This is because they might have committed a crime by accident or committed a murder not on purpose. Sending criminals to jail is one of the effective ways to keep society safe. This is because if the person is a serial killer, who murdered many people should be imprisoned for his or her actions. By doing so, government and individuals can benefit it from. For example, if we let the serious offender walk in the streets and kill people to gain power or money. This action could cause life threats to the citizens in this area. There is another way to rehabilitate criminals is to fine them or give them a second chance not to send them to prison immediately. This means paying a fine to the government to cover the bills can be a life-changing decision for the person who might have not committed a crime unintentionally. Another way is giving a great amount of community work that can give a sense of belongings to the person who can feel themselves a part of the community. It helps them to return to society in order to lead a normal life. In conclusion, sending the law-breakers to jail can be one of the solutions to the problem but they should be given another chance to live in society normally by making them pay a fine or do some community work. I do think that both ways of punishing criminals ought to be taken into consideration.