Car ownership has increased so rapidly over rhe past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is ? What measures can goverenments take to discourage people from using their cars?

From last three decades trend of owning own vehicle dramatically increase in urban area which greatly contributes to congestion of cities. I firmly agree with this statement. This essay discusses what are the steps government could take to control this situation and encourage citizens to use minimum private vehicles. To embark with, undoubtedly over the last three decades use of private vehicles rapidly increase. This increasing trend in society resulted in traffic jams. This trend takes place because people change their lifestyles. Nowadays mankind to towant reach very fast everywhere and public vehicles many time run behind time which wastes a lot of time for people. Today’s people effort to buy everything except time, so they started to prefer private vehicles over public vehicle which allowed them to reach on time in their comfort time and without tiring and also contributes to declining movement jam issue. There is no doubt that authorities should apply strict rules and spread awareness of the detrimental effects of using vehicles to discourage the community from using motor vehicles. First of,all they have to make a proper schedule of public vehicles that help to run on time. The best example of this is Japan where 18 seconds is the highest late run time of a train. Another step authorities take is to regulate rules such as blackout day on which day citizens are not allowed to private transportation. This rule was also successfully implemented by US states. Last but not least, spread awareness among citizens about the harmful effects of using cars and explain traffic jam issues is not only consume more time but also sometimes responsible for taking lives. Traffic jam is the one factor responsible for the increasing accident ratio in today’s world. In conclusion, I opine that this use of private transportation is responsible for increasing the congestion ratio. Thus, if we want to decrease the congestion ratio then authorities need to take steps which helps to encourage society for using public automobile over private automobile and for this they have to organize public vehicle in such a way that runs on time and easily get availability. To make this more effective they need to spread awareness among individuals.