Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music can eliminate part of culture gaps. However, I don’t totally agree that music will bring people of different ages together. In the following essay, I will explain why I have these opinions. With online streaming platforms such as YouTube, Spotify, and Apple Music becoming more and more common, people can easily acquire music of different nationalities and genres through online platforms, thus increasing the chances to immerse themselves in a variety of music. By doing that, people can learn the language and understand the cultural backgrounds. For example, many people who love one country’s music usually have a stronger incentive to learn that country’s language, customs, and culture. With more and more people doing that, people would have less misunderstanding about other cultures, thus eliminating the gaps between different groups of people. Therefore, we can say that music plays a vital role in increasing cultural communication. On the other hand, we often can recognize and easily guess a person’s age by knowing his/her favorite songs. Why is it workable? We may think that music brings different age people closer, but we need to admit that there’s a big generation gap between the older and the young. For instance, Jay Chou, a famous singer in my generation, has become an old singer and not as well-known as in the past. Nowadays, teenagers follow Korean popular music more. Different ages people don’t even try to know about other groups of people ’s music preferences. Therefore, people who listen to different music won’t have resonance when having small talk. In sum, as the arguments mentioned above, I don’t think people of different ages can become closer through music. But I agree that people know more about other cultures through music.