Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree

How to ensure grain security for the entire population has been a major concern for every country for centuries. It is believed that a nation should manage to produce all kinds of ingredients while importing as less as possible. In general, I am in favour of this viewpoint. Undoubtedly, not all countries have the same geographic features, weather conditions, and advanced technologies to offer all of the produce citizens need, and therefore, it is reasonable for them to import some more or less. However, the more a country relies on imported foods, the more insecurity and instability it may face. Grain import includes more uncertainties than the importation per se, say, geopolitics, tariff, etc., that exporting countries are unable to fully control. Thus, overdependency on imports will greatly pose a risk to the nation. Today, a great number of people are unaware of the fact that the miles that your food travels to get to your plate make it vulnerable to the environment. This is because the long-distance transportation of food by planes, trains, trucks, or ships all consume energy in large quantities and spew pollution, which is a major contributor to global warming, and the effects the pollution has on people’s health are reflected in high rates of asthma and other respiratory symptoms. Conversely, local produce is a much healthier and more environmentally sound alternative. Without the need of being packaged, shipped, and then delivered, local foods are able to preserve the nutrients to the greatest extent. Besides, purchasing locally grown foods maintains local farmland, which in turn increases green and open space and therefore promotes a healthy harmonious environment in the long term. In conclusion, in order to keep independent in food supply, and protect the environment, a country should strive to become self-sufficient in its production.