Nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development?

Advertising seeks to reach potential customers in order to boost the sales of goods. Although large quantities of advertisements can be seen in various kinds of media, their influence on consumer choices is declining mainly due to the reasons discussed below and I believe the trend is more positive than negative. The first reason why some people do not trust advertised products any more is that producers and advertisers tend to exaggerate the merits and downplay the weaknesses. Advertising that is commonly seen but fails to meet consumers’ expectations makes them disappointed or even antipathetic to commercials. Gradually, advertising becomes less significant in affecting people’s buying decisions as they have lost their confidence in it. Furthermore, the increasing number of buyers are more inclined to make final decisions by comparing qualities online, instead of putting faith in advertisements only. For instance, people have more channels to search for the product’s information, while in the past they were largely dependent on the advertisement. Internet users can easily see product reviews and comments on social media, which is considered to be more trustworthy and objective. From my perspective, It is a positive trend that purchasers can weigh pros and cons based on their own judgments from various sources, rather than solely relying on advertising promotions. On the one hand, consumers can independently decide what to purchase without being influenced by advertisers, which makes shoppers rational and able to buy high-quality goods that are good value for money. On the other hand, those advertisers would pay more attention to the quality of products per se and make an effort to meet customer satisfaction. In this way, it is beneficial to the development of society as a whole in the long term. Overall, I think the declining influence of advertising on consumers does more good than harm.