Many people believe that television programs are no value for children. Do you agree? Why and why not? Provide reasons and examples to support your response.

Contents of TV programs have recently been an issue around the world. Some people think that they are pointless for children while others are thinking the opposite. In my opinion, there are shows that are educational and could be of benefit to kids. To begin with, most of the programs on the television currently are based on true stories. Hence, there are certain topics that are being tackled which will give the viewers factual information that could help them use during their studies. For instance, national geographic channel, a world-renowned documentary program, provides children with lots of knowledge not just from the past but also of the future. Furthermore, there are certain organizations that check or criticise a show before airing it to the public. They scrutinize if the information covered in that program is not fake news or even explicit for minors. In the Philippines, for example, they have a buddy called MTRCB, who vigilantly monitors all the shows and even movies that will come out to the public. They will rate each show and movie according to the age bracket who could watch it. In this way, children will be guided to only watch shows that are appropriate to their ages. To recapitulate, television shows are important for the growth of kids. They could acquire knowledge from certain channels like Discovery Channel and many more. With the right guidance, children will benefit a lot from viewing programs.