Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, international trading has been enhanced due to globalization and economic superiority. However, this advance has an unfavourable impact on the local society and the environment. This essay will analyse the possible causes of this phenomenon and explain why this is a negative development. The main cause of the advent of international commerce is that it provides a cheaper and wider range of products compared to the local industry. This merchandise is often made in developing countries where the salary is lower. In fact, the major part of the clothes people wear are made in India or China. Moreover, the need for exotic or foreign goods which can not be produced in local communities is increasing over the year. However, it seems that there are several negative influences in each process of the supply chain. Firstly, it has a catastrophic influence on the society where the production process is done. Global companies tend to overproduce, which results in not only environmental problems such as deforestation and soil erosion but also employment problems such as excessive work hours and scarce salary. Secondly, CO2 emission during transportation is one of the main causes of global warming. Finally, those cheap and wide-range products are fatal for local industries. As a result, this increases the unemployment rate in the local community leading to social unrest. Overall, it seems that global trading is relevant because it is economical and provides more purchase options. However,serious problems regarding the environment and society stem from global import-export. Therefore, it appears that it is a negative development.