Some people think they have right to use as much fresh water as they want, but others believe the government should control the use of fresh water as it is limited resources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to the autonomy of the use of fresh water. While some claim there should be governmental management of freshwater supply, others argue people are entitled to use water accordingly. In general, I believe the authority should impose some control over freshwater usage due to its limited resources. On the one hand, access to fresh water is recognized as a human right, which means the water supply should be continuous and sufficient for personal and domestic usage. Therefore, the relative administrations are obliged to ensure resources to meet fundamental demands, such as drinking, food preparation, personal sanitation and household hygiene. Many health problems would arise if there were not enough supply to satisfy the most basic freshwater needs. On the other hand, insufficient freshwater resources have become one of the major crises in many countries. The challenge of population growth has caused increasing demands worldwide. However, as populations keep growing, the awareness of environmental protection has faded away. The squandering of water resources can be noted almost everywhere. Besides, pollution from household waste and industrial refuse leads to further problems, especially in areas that are not equipped with a qualified sewage disposal system. What is worse, global warming is another contributor to water scarcity. As the average air temperature increases, it evaporates from rivers and lakes at an alarming rate, depriving equatorial regions like sub-Saharan Africa and the Middle East of drinking water. Thus, the government should provide leadership and work collectively across departments of legislation, regulation, and taxation levers to impose certain control on freshwater usage. To conclude, although an adequate supply of freshwater supply should be guaranteed, all parts of our society should make joint efforts to conserve the scarce resource.