It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. Do the advantages of having a year off outweigh the disadvantages?

It is becoming increasingly common for students who have finished school before going to higher education. Although the benefits of this are varied, the drawbacks, in my opinion, should be paid more attention to. On the one hand, having a year off after high school graduation is advantageous in certain aspects. Firstly, personal development is valuable. One year will provide an opportunity for personal growth and one’s goals. Therefore, it can help students grow up and become independent and develop life skills such as communication or problem-solving skills. Secondly, learners may have a gap to do career discovery. Some students can use this period to gain work experience in their field of interest, allowing them to explore potential career paths and clarify academic goals and careers. On the other hand, the disadvantages of a blank year before college are more significant. To begin with, learning progress is delayed. In fact, taking a year off before pursuing a university degree can result in a delay in completing your degree. It may take longer to graduate and take part in the workforce. Consequently, this can affect your finances and affect your long-term career prospects. Moreover, difficult to return to study habits. After a year of not studying, it can be challenging to adjust back to the learning environment. More importantly, they will lose motivation and focus. Taking a year off can disrupt your motivation and motivation to study. As a result, when these students return to their studies after a year off, they may face with difficulties to regain their previous level of enthusiasm and dedication. In conclusion, despite some benefits mentioned above, I believe taking a year off before college might both prevent students ' occupational opportunities and result in study discouragement.