Some people think that the main purpose of school and university education should be to prepare people for work. Others, however, think that the true role of education is to make us better citizens. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's society, perspectives towards the true meaning of education are different. Some people think that being a good person is the key to having an education, while some argue that it solely serves as a career preparation. Personally, I strongly believe that the purpose of education is to advance our capabilities to be able to compete in the job market. I will outline two viewpoints in regard to my opinion. Firstly, all citizen act as an asset to their country. In order for them to be productive and generate more income for the government, they need to be able to perform well in their work. This condition only applies if the majority of the population is educated. Let's jump into an example, a student is being trained and taught in schools to master some specific subjects prepared by the Ministry of Education. After completing all educational levels, school and university, they will look for a job opportunity. When they get accepted into one and are successful in it, they become a catalyst of innovation and drive profit. What if no one is able to do this and education is only focusing on building a better population? yes, it is indeed not good. Secondly, education is somewhat correlated with good behaviour. Those who are well-educated show a better attitude compared to those who are not. So it can be said that it is only a byproduct of education. A man with a high degree from a reputable university is currently being employed by a multinational company that places a strong value on being a good man. Logically, the man will always improve himself in order to secure the job, not only as an employee but also as a citizen. In conclusion, education is supposed to be a seeding platform for the workforce and good behaviour will follow. Everyone needs to think about the meaning of education way beyond that.