Machine translation (MT) is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans.

The past century has witnessed great advances in technology. Among all the advancements we achieved, machine translation technology used to be believed to be an invention that was not so useful. From my perspective, however, with the rapid development of relevant theory and algorithms, machine translation could become mature in the near future. On the one hand, we cannot deny that machine translation technologies are still in their early stages. In many cases, they are still not capable of delivering reliable interpretations. To understand what people are saying, it is required to take into account the relationship between the speakers and their situations. Besides, another traditional obstacle that holds back this industry is that rather than only understand the direct meaning of words and phrases, interpreters need to view the context and get a grasp of how it impacts the meaning of a sentence. Therefore, it is easy to understand the difficulties of designing such a strong machine. However, the rapid development of artificial intelligence and relevant algorithms today marked a new era where machines stand a good chance of taking over many jobs from humans, including translation and interpretation positions. New applications and devices are designed to have stronger power to analyse and compare thousands of millions of sentences and their correct translation results, so that the artificial intelligence in them may be allowed to truly understand how languages work and what affects the result. In this case, the preciseness of machine interpretation has been improved significantly. The dramatic development of technology has had a great impact on how people view machine translation. It improves the efficiency and reliability of such a process. In conclusion, my personal view is that machine interpretation is set to play a more significant role soon,thanks to the development of artificial intelligence.