TOO MANY OLD HISTORIC BUILDINGS ARE IN DANGER AND DESTROYED IN MANY COUNTRIES. WHAT ARE THE MAIN REASON? HOW TO PROTECT THEM?

It has been always an issue how to preserve old heritage sites because it is pivotal to convey culture to the next generations. This essay will explain the main causes of the destruction of old cultural buildings and provide potential solutions. The first cause is an environmental problem called acid rain. This phenomenon occurs because the rain absorbs acid substances emitted by harmful gases. It can be fatal for old buildings because they are easily eroded. For instance, historic statues and churches in Germany are damaged and their colour is changed by acid rain. Secondly, there is always the risk of fire accidents. This is because most historic buildings do not have an effective structure to deal with fire. In fact, it is famous that the Saint Notre Dame Church in Paris was lost because of a fire accident. By solving those two causes we can prevent the loss of heritage sites. Firstly, industries and the government should tackle the emission of gasses that give birth to acid rain. Those gasses are often made by the excessive use of petrol and coal to make steal or energy. Therefore, the government should encourage the use of sustainable resources using subsidies and penalties. Secondly, the government should endeavour to prevent fire accidents. For example, it should enforce the structure of heritage sites or build fire stations near them. In conclusion, historic buildings can be easily damaged by environmental dangers and accidents. In order to preserve them, the government should tackle the route problem of acid rains and reinforce the buildings.