Social media addiction: Many people believe that social networking sites such as Facebook have a negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social media has revolutionized all facets of our lives, and we have witnessed debates in this regard. Hence, the opponents hold the view that this trend has detrimental consequences for the community. While this essay will explore this phenomenon, I believe that social media will have negative effects on society in the long run. On the one hand, it is irrefutable that this trend has some advantages through the global village era. Firstly, it can strengthen social interactions through the Internet without any restrictions. Namely, Facebook transformed all aspects of relationships by facilitating connections among people. In addition, this trend can expand friendships through the network who have the same ideas or run any kind of campaign around the world for social interests. On the contrary, this trend has undeniable negative implications that we should consider it. Sharply, this medium would undermine mental health and physical activities. It is glaringly obvious that social media reduces outdoor activity by promoting all kinds of excursions via virtual reality cameras. Relatively, this phenomenon enhances a sedentary lifestyle by consuming a huge amount of time on mobile phones or tablets, etc. It is lucid that this trend would be a major cause for the society that becomes secluded. To draw a conclusion, It is necessary to reiterate that we cannot bold the bright side of social networking while it has gigantic negative effects on society both in the short and long run. Therefore, I firmly agree that the advantages of this tendency are overshadowed by its dark sides.