Prison is the best way to punish criminals. Agree or disagree

It is popularly believed that being imprisoned is one of the best options to punish criminals. However, I totally believe that is not only way to tackle the problem. In current times, commiting a crime is significantly increasing. As an example, nowadays many people who can not make a living are turning into offenders. Furthermore, there are some reasons such as poverty and unemployment which can cause offences. As a result, people prefer easy money instead of make money by working hard. That is why most individuals claim that jail will be good punishment. On the other hand, imprisoning criminals can not be a solution. Nowadays, most criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Prisoners can not earn money, this is because lack of employment and education. If prisoners are educated and prepared how to be become one part of the society, crime would be reduced. I think some criminals who commit minor offences should be forgiven. However, when it comes to rapists and serial killers, they must be punished by going to jail. This is because killing people may motivate people for crime. As a result, it causes growth of crime. All in all, I do believe that they should not be rubbing shoulders with murderers. So, taking all reasons into consideration can solve problems.