Write about the following topic: Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.  In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The debate over whether or not English should be taught mainly in school has been a contentious issue. While it is a commonly held belief that subsiding people's local languages could extremely lead to their extinction, there is also an argument that opposes it. This essay will discuss both sides' arguments before I present my opinion. To begin with, it might be said that, English is a global language that facilitates the transfer of knowledge, culture, and civilization. In other words, it is the most dominant language in which other countries obliged their generation to study. Furthermore, nations are trying to pass their knowledge and keep up with the new trends in the globe. Following that, they translate their new inventories into the world's top language - English. This has many advantages including a huge rise in country's economy and trade. Another point to consider is that, despite the necessity of mastering the English language, governments should not underestimate their pupils' mother languages which speak much about their identity and heritage. Moreover, Individuals should defend their origins and roots against any kind of cultural invasion. In addition, the new generation will lose communication with their ancestors who did not have the chance to formally study English. Many argue that educational institutions may dramatically overrate a specific language at the expense of their original one. That's to say, they tend to translate all their sciences into the new language and neglect their value of theirs by encouraging people to switch between them publically. A major drawback of translating from and to one's language could be the serious loss of meaning and sincerity of the intended messages. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that nations should allocate a decent budget to teaching their citizens the English language with a creative plan to involve their local languages in the process of learning English.