Some people think that govt is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. Agree or disagree?

It is often argued that government expenditure on the arts is a waste of money and should be utilized elsewhere. I completely disagree with this opinion and think that encouraging arts in a society plays a vital role in preserving cultural values as well as boosting the nation’s economy. First of all, every geographical region or country has its own heritage and culture. Arts is a critical source of cultural inheritance which provides a distinct identity to a nation and its people. Moreover, It helps in understanding our roots and civilization and brings a sense of pride. Consequently, it also helps a community to be united and feel connected through the various art forms they practice. For example, Pop music is one of the most popular music forms in North America. In the last couple of decades, several Rock bands group came into existence, and it continues. Irrespective of the social, religious, or political beliefs huge crowds come together in a musical concert and enjoy the art form. Secondly, encouraging arts have a critical impact on the economic growth of a country. Tourists from other regions of the world would be interested to visit and explore cultural diversity which will significantly increase tourism. The Artists also contribute to the country’s economy through exports such as crafts. For example, India is one of the leading exporters of various crafted goods. Artists also contribute by paying income tax and value-added tax on their art forms produced. To conclude, I strongly believe that government should provide sufficient funding for various art projects in order to preserve our heritage and cultural values. Indeed, there is a need for government funds in other sectors too but it should not impact the budget for arts and culture ministry.