Some people believe that parents are responsible for children growing into responsible citizens. Others think that teachers should do this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is widely agreed that shaping children into responsible citizens should be a joint responsibility of both parents and teachers. On one side, a parent's role in a child's life is vital to their development into socially responsible individuals by providing them with the necessary skills and values to succeed in life and society. Through nurturing relationships and a strong home environment, such as providing moral guidance and displaying positive behaviour around them, parents can help build a foundation for respecting others and the wider world. On the other side of the argument, teachers can also play an important role, since they are able to act not only as educators but also as role models. Teachers spend vast amounts of time with students on a regular basis, and thus can have a significant influence on them as they mature. By providing an encouraging environment, in which respect for each other is fostered, and educating about wider issues such as global responsibility, teachers are able to reinforce the moral lessons already taught at home. In my opinion, both parents and teachers should take an active role in forming young people into responsible citizens of their respective communities. I believe that the family has an integral role in instilling basic principles of respect and consideration for others, enabling children to benefit from strong foundations for their education later on. Additionally, teaching staff can offer the essential stimulus for children to develop into model citizens through inspirational teaching styles, teaching appropriate skills such as critical thinking, collaboration and problem-solving skills. Therefore it is important that both roles are combined to ensure that students are learning both inside and outside the classroom.