Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, people have different basic needs. One of the essential ones is clean drinking water. It is said that the government should provide this supply to them freely. I disagree with this statement to a large extent, and I am going to elaborate on this in the following paragraphs. People have used water for several reasons recently, such as agriculture, washing, drinking, and cooking. If authorities provide this opportunity to use clean water without any payment, people will waste this natural resource during their routines. Farmers and other people might use clean drinking water for agriculture, or washing their cars or floors, instead of alternative ways. Therefore, a lot of clean water will be wasted without correct management. As a result, this resource might decrease for the next generation. Similarly, the government should spend much more money on this project, which cannot be sustained in the long run, and they have to pay a lot again. Consequently, they cannot invest in other projects in their country. On the other hand, many species depend on water for survival. By consuming a lot of water, they will be at risk of extinction. Humans can affect their environment a lot through their activities, like wasting water. Hence, as other creatures decline, our own lives will ultimately be threatened. In some countries, there has been some evidence to distribute water without any charge, but they indicated that people consumed more water in comparison with other countries. So, they will use it more consciously due to the bill they have to pay for water, In conclusion, although clean water is a right of every human, we should not forget our next generations and other species in the world. I recommend that all governments subsidise the cost of clean water and introduce educational reforms to raise people ’s awareness about water management.