some peopole believe that all children should learn a foreign language form the time they start schools while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at seconday school

In today's globalized economy, the ability to speak a second language is more useful than ever before. While some believe that children, would only start to learn a foreign language at secondary school, I side with those who feel the learning process should begin the moment children enter the education system. On the one hand, it could be argued that the study of foreign languages should wit. Those in favour of shostmpnement argue that young school children already have a timetable that is fit to burst and learning how to read, write and count should take precedence over second language. In short, they feel that the native language should come first. What is more, they also argue that only a small minority of children will ever actually need to use a second language, so it is a waste of time teaching a skill that for many will be redundant later in life. However, I side with those who believe that second language learning should begin at primary school. It is a fact that the earlier a child learns a language, the more proficiently they will eventually be able to speak it. Research has shown that before puberty, children have a unique ability to acquire languages by simply being exposed to them, which is a skill that ends in adolescence. Moreover, in my opinion, children who learn at an early age often lack the fear associated with speaking in a foreign tongue. For example, they do not self-conscious when trying to pronounce foreign sounds. However, perhaps my strongest argument for starting early is that learning a foreign language provides children with a range of other cognitive skills. Bilingual children are known to perform better in problem-solving tasks and have more creativity than their monolingual counterparts, which are desirable skills for children of any age. In conclusion, although young children already have full timetables, learning a foreign language had many positive cognitive side effects on a child's overall education. Therefore, on balance, I strongly believe that children should start learning a second language at primary school rather than secondary school.