In the modern society, many people find themselves being awkward in social situations like face-to-face gatherings. What are the possible causes of this situation and how can we deal with it?

Contemporary years are burdened by modern social phenomena which were rare in the past. The widespread existence of "social anxiety " in various socio-economic groups has led experts to delve deeper into the roots of this issue and come up with solutions for it. In this essay, I will discuss my knowledge of the cause, examples and solutions of this mental obstacle and will draw a conclusion based on them. First, experts state that one of the early causes of social anxiety is the reduced direct contact of children with their peers and adults. For instance, studies have shown that the amount of time a child is spending in the house has increased threefold compared to fifty years ago. The new norm of child-play is computer games and seeing a group of children playing on the street is a delightful, albeit rare scene. Hence, younglings do not have the necessary tools of handling such encounters. Second, education and adult life do not equip the burdened individuals to limit such issues. As an example, no course regarding anxiety control and communication strategies is taught at schools. This is further amplified by the lack of direct contact even in adulthood when, especially after the COVID pandemic, most of the meetings are video calls over the internet. On the other hand, there are beneficial tools and methods of controlling (and hopefully solving) such problems. Firstly, psychoanalysis can shed light on the recesses of the human mind and create pathways to dealing with it. For instance, one of my friends was able to solve her stress-related problems by consulting a psycho-analyst. She is now a healthy young researcher with outstanding social capabilities. Moreover, scientists believe that establishing early contact for children between the same and different age groups in a safe environment can alleviate social anxiety a great deal. Subsequently, governments are constructing safe, supervised playgrounds to battle the problem face-to-face. To conclude, the ways of modern life have forced us into a dangerous mental corner. The lack of early contact, education and over the internet adult life induced social stress in a part of the population. However, the means of dealing with these disabilities are also present. Early childhood contact with other children, and at the very worst the existence of psychoanalysis are sound methods of avoiding them. One can be sure that further research is already being done on these social obstacles and the future might hold the key to solving them.