Today, people in many countries can live and work anywhere they choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweight the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your on knowledge or experience

In the modern day world, humans’ access and ability to live and work in countries across the world has never been better, largely due to the advancements in communication technology and travel links. When looking at the effect of this, it is important to investigate the potential costs and benefits of moving to a foreign place as a resident and/or employee both to the individual and their new-found community. The below points aim to dissect and expand on these ideas in order to come to a conclusion on the net gain. One upside of this opportunity is a boost to the economy. The receiving demographic will form a beneficiary of the newcomers' skills and experience that they bring to the job, aiding the organisation they have chosen to work for. Additionally, a new person spending their hard-earned money on goods and services means an enhancement to the financial status of the region, emphasising the profits of a free market. Another advantage is the holistic development of the world’s experience, tolerance and appreciation for diversity. A person living and working in a country abroad will have their eyes opened to new ways of life and people from different backgrounds to their own. This, on a larger scale, causes the population to be more insightful and understanding of varying cultural norms; a positive effect. While the obvious potential downside of taking away a job from someone originally residing in that country, there are more. In particular, the newcomer may find it difficult to integrate into a culture vastly different from their own. Indeed, living and working could mean having to adapt to foreign languages, social dynamics, food, religion and traditions. Furthermore, it is more than possible that someone may grow to feel isolated or ‘homesick’ if they do not successfully assimilate into their new environment. In summary, there are many factors to be considered when investigating the effects of the improved ability to live and work freely on a global scale. When taking the above points into consideration, it is my belief that the advantages to be gained from this outweigh the drawbacks.