Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is negative. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Plenty of organizations sponsor sports events to advertise their brand. While this has benefited the sports industry in many ways such as increasing their popularity, it has also had some adverse effects like match-fixing and gambling. In my opinion, I feel the advantages that come up with the attention the sports industry has reached far outweigh the drawbacks. In my essay below, I will further explain my position. Firstly, due to the involvement of different sponsors, the sports industry has attained a greater level of popularity. They have introduced attractive gifts and provided luxurious packages for the winners. Through this, their product is advertised easily and it also makes the game interesting and competitive. For example, in India IPL matches have attained a greater reputation in the last few years, and this was mainly due to the involvement of giant companies when the game started attracting more followers. While this is true, it has also led many to get involved in match-fixing and gambling practices. There have been a lot of regulations passed in the last few years by the sports council to punish and eradicate such practices. However, it is still ongoing. For example, In IPL matches, there have been several instances where a specific team were asked to not play for a season owing to these complaints. In addition, Increasing amounts of money investments also might drag the competition to an unhealthy level. People would start playing the game just to win the prizes and they might forget to follow the ethical rules and develop their career. In conclusion, although the certain increase in sponsors has affected the authenticity of the game, it has also grabbed the strong attention of many people owing to the advertisements and lucrative prizes. In the last 10 years, people have started enjoying some sports to a greater level because of the popularity they gained. Therefore, I believe it has been a positive change for the sports industry rather than having worsening consequences.