Some people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, technology plays an important role in people's lives. It is believed that some platforms in the digital world negatively influence both people and society. I strongly agree that this kind of socializing has side effects on individuals and communities for two reasons. There are many reasons why sites like Facebook harm people. One of the most important ones is individuals’ mental health. A large number of people could suffer from depression after spending lots of time on Facebook or other social media. They see attractive pictures of trips or luxury parties from some friends all the time, whereas they are facing a hard financial situation despite working very hard. Gradually, observing this huge gap makes them sad and might expose them to depression or other psychological disorders. Moreover, these sites take lots of people ’s time. Instead of spending time with family members, they look for what others are doing or where they are travelling. For example, I had an account on Facebook 2 years ago, and at least I spent 2 hours on just Facebook, answering my friends’ messages, reading their posts and putting comments or giving feedback on others' comments. As a result, I did not have time for more important events such as spending time with my 8- year old son who was so upset about this matter. Hence, these platforms could negatively impact our individual lives. Society could also be damaged by social networking sites. The security of the society could be compromised. On Facebook, some criminals may have accounts. While they hide their true identities, they could build social relationships with other people, especially, young ones. After gaining the trust of others, there is a chance of committing a crime, including homicide. Therefore, it could threaten the society's safety. In addition to this, it might promote some behaviour that is not accepted in society, to illustrate, when a famous singer smokes drugs on the stage and thousands of fans admire them, it could normalize this behaviour for a large group of people in society. Consequently, it could easily change negatively the norms and values of a community. In conclusion, there are some downsides to using social networking sites for both individuals and society. It could affect people ’s mental health and family relationship, as well as the safety and moral values of society. I recommend considering staying away from these kinds of socializing sites.