Students in some countries leave school without good understanding of how to manage their money. What do you think are the reasons? What are the solutions to this problem?

Some pupils tend to graduate from school or finish their education with no complete concept of financial management. This would be a disadvantage in their future life. I will explain some possible causes of the phenomenon and discuss a few solutions. This phenomenon could be the result of multiple factors. As school is the place for education, students ’ lack of understanding of money management could be blamed on an education loophole. Many schools have no such courses for financial management nor teaching it as a necessary subject. This ends up with pupils graduating with an immature idea about money. Moreover, on the topic of education, parents also play a big part. Parents are the major influences in a person’s life. What parents say, what parents do, and what parents think will all affect their children ’s thoughts. For instance, if a child’s family purchase tons of luxuries right after they receive their salary, the child would likely have poor financial management. At the same time, surroundings affect people’s thoughts and actions too. Influencers online, commercials, and the people around us all alter our thoughts on things. If a person never sees or hears about any examples of managing money, he would likely have no concept about regulating his spending. Based on the causes, I came up with these solutions. First of,all is to add this course to the school agenda. During the course, students could learn what is money management and how to manage their purchases. Secondly, parents should play their part well in this situation. As parents are the closest influences around the young, all their actions could make a difference. Parents could constantly remind their children about managing their money, though it is not necessary. As long as parents are a good example for their children and often bring up this topic, children would likely have this concept in mind. Last but not least, the influences around us can also inform people. To teach students financial management, governments and schools can take similar measures to how other ideas were spread, such as using slogans and advertisements. There are often public speeches in schools informing students about safety, money management can do the same. As this idea is constantly showing up in their lives, this concept would likely stay in their minds. In conclusion, schools not providing relevant courses, parents not being good examples, and surroundings not having bad influences all contribute to students leaving school without a complete understanding of managing their money. To solve this, schools could make it a necessary subject to study, parents could affect their children by their actions and words, and slogans and other ways of influencing can be taken to remind people to manage their money.