Some people believe that universities should only accept students with high marks. Others think that students of all ages and abilities levels should be able to attend universities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have contrasting views on the student enrollment criteria of universities. Some believe that it should only be determined by marks while others believe that universities should also consider other abilities of students. In the following passage, I will be shedding light on both views along with stating my own standpoint. First, let us discuss why a segment of society supports the merit criteria based on marks only. Well, it’s an undeniable fact that marks are an important indicator of a student’s capabilities as those who are able to secure high in their exams must have done some hard work. However, it is important to look at a bigger picture and assess other areas of performance as well such as sports, language, confidence, team working skills, etc. It is crucial because there might be some candidates who underperformed on the exam due to a mishap but actually well deserved. Moving on to the second viewpoint, which takes into consideration other parameters as well to assess a candidate’s eligibility to join the university. This is a more sound approach because a healthy education system is one, which is inclusive and promotes a growth mindset. There is a need to build this understanding in society that each one of us holds a different skill set and that is what gives birth to a cohesive system. When a university will welcome students possessing different capabilities, it will be able to teach students how we can create a synergy impact. For instance, while working in a group a student who is good in academics can perform good research and development while someone who is very creative can present ideas in a better way. Together they can bring remarkable results. To conclude, if the universities will only accept candidates with high grades they will not contribute to providing a diverse employee base to the companies. Hence, I believe that institutions should select students considering a broad spectrum of performance indicators.