Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is more useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the opinion of some people television is a vital medium for education, Another section of people argues that it's more useful for entertainment purposes. This essay agrees with the statement television is a vital way of Education. It is often argued that television is an important way of spreading knowledge and education. The reason being it has a wider audience spread across the nation. Moreover,Its audio-visual way of telecasting different kinds of educational programs is beneficial for the whole student community across the country. For example, channels like Discovery telecast different programs focusing on wildlife, and science experiments across the globe. Students get to know the practical aspects of learning through these broadcasts. For this reason, I agree with the statement that television is useful for education. However, another section of society believes that television is suitable for entertainment purposes only. Their argument is that television is often called an idiot box because it shows serials and soaps which have no family values. Furthermore, there are lots of program broadcasting targeting youngster which shows lots of vulgarity and immoral behaviour. For example, Big Boss which is a reality tv show broadcast across the globe promotes indecency and immoral behaviour in society. such shows promote vulgarity and glamorise bad behaviour as a trend in the community by using celebrities as participants. In spite of that, I believe television can be used for spreading teaching if put to the right use. To conclude, television is a strong medium to spread knowledge, skills and teaching among the youth. It has far-reaching advantages if we use it properly to promote education. it can be used as a teacher to teach subjects of science and maths. It has the capacity to influence a larger section of society.