In many countries, paying for things using mobile apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advatages or more disadvatages? write an essay

All across the globe, there is an increasing trend in online transactions due to the ease of access via mobile applications. In this essay, I will explore why this will negatively impact consumers because they may end up with an addiction and they may not be able to verify the products before use, even though it is less time -consuming to order online. Customers may become addicted to online retail as there is a large dopamine hit when shopping online. This is because app developers, with the help of neurologists, have primed the app to release excessive dopamine so that consumers return to their websites on a regular basis. For instance, Amazon has developed a feature where logging on to their website every day, users will get Prime Points which they can use to buy products from the website, thereby creating a harmful habit in a person's daily routine. Furthermore, inspection of items listed on a website is impossible which may lead to customers getting scammed. For example, a yoga mat seller uploads pictures of a defectless product; however, when the customer receives the mat it is completely different to the one advertised. This is further supported by the fact that the police have recently revealed data which shows thousands of pounds lost to scams online and the trend is only growing. Although there are drawbacks to online shopping, it does save customers a massive amount of time. This is because a consumer can easily order an item online and it will be delivered to their doorstep in a few working days, whereas shopping in person will require time to go to the shop, select the product, pay and return home. Having this convenience allows shoppers to utilise their time in a more productive manner. In conclusion, I believe that the rise of internet shopping is more harmful due to the fact that it can instil detrimental habits in users and they may purchase defective products, even though it does save time.