Some people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on individuals and society. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present world, the number of people who are using social media is constantly increasing. I believe it has some positive effects on individuals and negative ones on society which will be discussed in this essay. In regard to individuals, these platforms such as Facebook or Instagram enable people to be in touch regardless of where they are living. Since these sites are free, people just need to create an account and add their friends and family members. After having a page on Facebook or Instagram, they easily can communicate with their friends who are living in another country, sending them some documents or pictures. Before these platforms, people had to pay lots of money for an international call. As a result, these platforms have brought people closer together and help them be in touch whenever they like. Moreover, there are some groups on the platforms where people with common needs can join and share their ideas and support each other. Moving to society, I believe that social networking sites have negative effects on society. First of all, more people do not meet each other in person which was common before, gathering at least once a week or month in community clubs, so fewer and fewer people have face-to-face interactions. It brings down the solidarity of community and society over time, and people in one community gradually become strangers to each other. Furthermore, the safety of society might be threatened, and the rate of terrible crimes can go up. For instance, some offenders or criminals could easily register on these platforms, hiding their true identities, and building relationships with innocent young individuals in order to deceive them. Therefore, society would be in danger from using these sites. In conclusion, though networking sites have made long-distance communication much easier, they decrease the sense of empathy in society. I recommend it is better to limit the usage of these sites.