Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged? What can governments do to help them

In today's world, access to education has become much more widespread and easier than ever before. Despite this, a significant number of adults still cannot read or write,leading to various disadvantages. First of all, illiteracy can have a huge impact on an individual's quality of life. Illiterate people have difficulties in performing daily tasks such as reading road signs, filling out forms, and understanding basic information. They may not dare to travel to places far away, or engage in social interactions with others. These limitations definitely cause inconvenience and frustration in their lives. In addition, adults who cannot read or write are likely to face challenges in finding employment opportunities.Most jobs require basic reading and writing skills, and those well-educated people enjoy a superior competitive edge in the job market. By contrast,illiterate adults are limited to jobs that require little or no ability in literacy,which are typically low-paying jobs. Therefore,illiteracy often breeds poverty. As illiterates face significant disadvantages in today's society, administrations have the responsibility to address this issue. It is urgent for governments to invest in literacy programs that provide grown-ups with basic reading and writing know-how. These programs should be easily accessible and affordable to ensure that everyone can benefit from them. Another method is for governments to partner with private organizations and local communities to provide training courses, particularly job-related training. This measure involves various parties of society and helps to alleviate the government's pressure in eradicating illiteracy. These training courses can focus on teaching skills such as manual labour, handicrafts, or basic computer skills, which can open up new job opportunities for illiterates.