Many people think hosting an international sporting event brings a lot of benefits to a country, while others believe that it has more disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, many countries are in a bid to get the opportunity to organize international sports games, such as the Olympics and the World Cup. Some people support the concept of hosting such events by a country, whereas others question the purpose of this practice. In general, I am in favour of the first viewpoint. In this age of globalization, international sporting games are high on many countries' agendas. For the host nation, it is a great chance to win global media attention to showcase the nation to the world in terms of its traditions, customs, social values etc. As a result, the host country receives global recognition,which helps to enhance multilateral relations with other countries. In addition, earning foreign exchange from the tourists who come to these events is valuable to the national economy. Specifically, plane tickets, visas, and accommodation bring income to the country in the form of taxes, supporting economic growth and allowing more money to circulate in the market. On the other hand, managing these games may incur unnecessary costs as it requires the establishment of temporary facilities and services. For example, most stadiums often need to be expanded and a large number of volunteers need to be hired. Obviously, it is not feasible for less developed nations to invest in such events. There are cases of previous Olympic hosts that have sunk themselves into debt for years. To conclude, organizing multinational sporting events can pay off politically and economically for hosts that can act wisely.