Experts claim that if older people do more exercise they will be healthier and happier. However, many elderly people suffer from a lack of fitness. What are the causes of this and what are some possible solutions?

It is true that physical activity is vital to humans in many different ways, especially to older ones. However, a number of the elderly report suffering from a lack of fitness. Given that this can cause a whole host of health issues, identifying the reasons behind it is key to finding solutions. There are several reasons why many old people are not engaging in exercise. First, as people get older and weaker, they tend to lean towards reactive activities, such as watching television or sitting at home playing with their children, and away from proactive ones. In fact, most of them even believe that they are too old to exercise, which is a common misconception or an excuse for being lazy. Second, if senior citizens have no idea how physical activity can help enhance their health, they will view it as unnecessary. For example, an old citizen is more likely to claim that exercise is strenuous and effort-intensive when he or she hasn't been educated about the positive effects it can offer. Nevertheless, the above insights can provide many actionable solutions to better address this problem. Governments and city officials should create and promote some sort of clubs for older citizens, involving low-intense activities like walking or jogging. In fact, having a chance to make more friends would propel them to join and they would then realize these activities are not as onerous as they think and are full of joy. In addition, organizing workshops to provide adequate recognition of the broad-based benefits of physical activity can ensure more senior citizens' engagement. For instance, if an old citizen finds that even ten or twenty minutes of walking each day can help prevent and manage noncommunicable diseases like cardiovascular diseases, and various cancers, he or she would be motivated to do it on a regular basis. To summarize, although the problem might be difficult to address, there are many possible solutions to solve it. Coordination among governments and city officials to create clubs and workshops plays an important role in making old residents healthier and happier through regularly exercising