Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their income to support charity.’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

It is often said that everyone ought to contribute a fixed chunk of their income to charity. It seems to me that forcing everybody to donate is not a good idea, no matter how much we might admire the idea, I will explain why in this essay. On the one hand, not every individual can afford to give a certain portion of their income to charity because each individual has a different income level. Therefore, the sheer cost of living does not leave enough savings for many people. The main obstacle would appear to be the number of middle-class people, which covers approximately half of the world's population. Those who are living on a budget can barely meet their own needs. Thus, it will be very difficult or even impossible for them to give some of their money to charity's sake. Furthermore, some people might prefer to save for their retirement so that they would be able to live their retirement with dignity without being dependent on their offspring or the government. On the other hand, if everybody contributed a fixed amount of their expenses towards charity, it could improve the lives of people living in poverty, and there are many who need financial support, like the homeless, poor, or orphans. However, philanthropy cannot be forced; it depends on their willingness and earnings. To conclude, the prohibitive cost of living and the need to save for one’s own retirement do not leave enough money for most citizens to donate. Hence, it might be an injustice to force them to give away a fixed amount to support charity. However, this needs to be supplemented in various ways, such as through donations of blood, organs, and old clothing.