an increasing number of people are buying what they need online, what are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Online shopping has revolutionized the way we shop. Consequently, more and more people nowadays prefer purchasing online products over the traditional method of going to the store. This trend, however, experts both positive and negative impacts on individuals and businesses as well. The burgeoning popularity of online shopping can be attributed to several advantages. First of all, the most distinctive benefit is convenience. To illustrate, people can buy products from the comfort of their workplace, own home, or virtually anywhere without the pressure of a salesperson. Besides, being able to purchase from their comfort places such as workstations or homes, customers also can save money. With ever-growing fuel prices, online shopping saves them the cost of driving to and from the shops. They can also save time by avoiding getting stuck in gridlocked traffic. As for online business owners, The startup cost is lower compared to physical retail shops. And, let’s not forget, the shop owners do not have to hire staff to work and run the shops. Thus saving a sustainable amount of the expenditure. Apart from this, online business owners can easily sell their products to customers worldwide. Despite some distinctive benefits, shopping online suffers from some obvious drawbacks. Fraud is the biggest downside of online trading. Put simply, there is a constant risk of fraud: debit or credit card scams, identity theft, hacking, phishing, and counterfeiting goods to mention but a few. Likewise, cut-throat competition is making life tougher for business owners. Online trading is global and any customers from any part of the globe can purchase from any seller of their preference. That is to say, the competition with online businesses is not merely engaging customers but rather staying ahead of other sellers. In conclusion, while eCommerce reaps distinct advantages, it also confers some obvious disadvantages. As a consumer or business owner, people should know the downsides of it before switching to eCommerce.