Many today feel that attention spans are becoming shorter due to the prevalence of social media. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous people think that in the past, it was easier to focus long-term. However, because of the advance in social media, the attention spans tend to shorten nowadays. I agree with this statement for two reasons, as concentration is barely required when scrolling through media and users get used to shorter contents as well. And I will talk more about my point of view in the following essay. First of all, individuals are more likely to have shorter attention spans due to the fact that the contents do not need much focus time. This is because the uploaded media and videos only consume minimal time for viewers to watch the whole thing. For instance, shorts have recently been popular on Instagram. And generally speaking, the length of the contents are usually less than 30 seconds. By doing so, it lowers the percentage of longer streams and increases the chances of people looking at media that require little attention span. Additionally, attention spans have decreased with users being more familiar with shorter contents. Moreover, it has been proven by experts that scrolling through the Internet, the human body releases dopamine, which urges people to search for more similar creations. Therefore, with the two conditions above, people get addicted to videos with lack of length and those of which consume less concentration. In conclusion, it is obvious that it is more and more of a challenge to stay focused due to the fact that the creations made by producers are abridged as well as viewers get used to these contents.