Some countries now have people from different cultures and ethnic groups. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the past, it was not common to see foreigners, however, more and more countries are now having residents from different cultures and ethnic groups. Some people believe this is a positive phenomenon while others hold the opposite point of view. I agree with the former and in the following paragraph, I will try to discuss the root behind this development and elaborate on my perspectives. There are some reasons why some countries have foreign settlers. First of all, some people move to more advanced countries for better quality of life such as higher salary, better educational resources, and great social welfare. Moreover, some poor souls leave their home countries to get away from civil wars. In addition, developed countries that face labor shortage attract foreign talents by implementing friendly immigration policies Cultural diversity and ethnic groups bring benefits to local society. For example, locals would have the opportunities to enjoy delicious exotic food. Moreover, cultural diversity expands/broadens citizens’ horizons. Furthermore, the increase of population helps increase a country's productivity and boost economic development. In conclusion, individuals emigrate overseas to pursue a better life. States attract immigrants by incentives to fix the lack of labor. These are the two main reasons why countries have alien residents. In my opinion, a society consisting of various ethnicities is progressive, and the local economy is benefited by it.