Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members how to be good members of society. Others, however believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There are diverse opinions about whose responsibility it is to nurture children into responsible members of society. While some schools of thought argue that it is the parents, other intellectuals feel it is for the schools to shoulder. This essay will critically analyse the two sides of the debate and conclude by stating that the responsibility of building a child into a good citizen falls on the parents. On the one hand, children learn about various aspects of being a good citizen in schools although the duration of learning could vary. Put in another way, pupils and their peers under the guidance of the teachers spend about eight hours daily playing together and partaking in academic activities. During this period, teachers impart knowledge to them about the civic responsibilities of citizens through various types of teachings such as active participation in community programmes, classroom discussions on social issues, volunteering as well as the inclusion of projects in the curriculum that surround social issues. While this number of hours could appear juicy, I do not think it would suffice to correct the children to learn and imbibe the ethics of a good citizen. On the contrary, it is axiomatic that parents are children's first and foundational teachers. In other words, children master the language, the mother tongue, from their parents and also imbibe the culture and tradition of their immediate environment from their fathers and mothers. Furthermore, the primary link between the children and society is the parent and there is a traditional concept that children need to be well-groomed at home, otherwise, the grooming will be done by society, the outcome of which is often never palatable. Primary evidence of this is children raised in harmonious families in Africa. They tend to behave more maturely and sensibly than those from dysfunctional homes, further lending credence to the view that perhaps, the parents, not the school holds the obligation to nurture children aright. To conclude, there are valid arguments on both sides. However, on balance, the parents, not the school, hold the duty to train children as responsible adults because parents are the first contact of the children and they connect them to the larger society.