Some people think that machine translation is highly developed in today's society. Therefore it is not necessary for children to learn a foreign language. What's your opinion?

In the present world, the advancement of technology plays an important role in people's lives. While it is believed that due to advanced computers, we can understand almost all non-native languages, I strongly believe offspring have to develop this skill for two reasons. First of all, access to these modern and expensive machines is not possible for a large number of people. I concede that the price of them might be easily affordable for most individuals in North America, however, in many developing countries people cannot afford them because they do not have enough income. For example, in parts of my home country, Iran, people do not know how to use a mobile phone. As a result, using this technology is not applicable to many people, and they still have to learn a second language. Another reason is that learning a language is a skill that can increase children's cognitive abilities. It is proven that bilingual children are known for better performance in problem-solving. This skill could help children in all aspects of their lives. Therefore, alongside learning a foreign language, children can obtain lots of benefits. According to research conducted by Tehran University in Iran, bilingual children who spoke Farsi and Arabic had a higher rate of acceptance in university entrance exams. Thus, though there are some machines to translate every language, it is better to let young learners study secondary ones. In conclusion, the lack of access to this technology over the globe and the positive effect that it has on brain development, indicate that heirs need to study foreign languages. I recommend that it is wise to rely on human brains rather than machines.