Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycle are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transport such as buses, taxies and metro on vehicle-free day. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present world, transportation is a hot topic in newspapers. In some parts of the world, people must use public transportation instead of their personal cars, while travelling in cities. I believe despite being inconvenient and expensive its benefits outweigh its drawbacks. Implementing car-free days has several disadvantages. First of all, it is not comfortable. When people go out in their cars, they have the freedom to choose their own time and routes, but by using public transportation they have to follow the timetables of buses or trains, and sometimes it is required to walk a portion of the way to get to destinations since buses or railways are not available in all parts of cities. In a personal car, people are more safe in order to not get any diseases compared to being on a bus or train. Moreover, buses and trains are not free, and if a family want to go to a far place and prefers to use a taxi or bus, it can be costly. On the other hand, there are several advantages to banning private cars from travelling in the city centre. One of the most challenging environmental problems is air pollution. by having free-vehicle days, fewer emissions would be released into the atmosphere, and people could have cleaner air. This is very important for those who are suffering from pulmonary diseases such as asthma or bronchitis. Furthermore, people can get to their workplaces faster due to fewer traffic jams. For example, when I take my car for going to my office, I have to get up very early in the morning to be at work on time. As a result,, usually I cannot join my son for breakfast. and we only see each other at dinnertime when we are both exhausted. On free-vehicle day, I have a chance to spend time with my son in the morning and have our breakfast together since I am sure that the roads are not crowded, and I would not be late for work. In conclusion. although using public transportation on free-vehicle days are inconvenient and sometimes expensive, it contributes to having fresh and clean air. Therefore, I believe its benefits are more than its drawbacks.