Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others consider they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People often have different views with regard to hiring the most suitable candidates for a job. Some prefer to recruit individuals who are team -oriented and can adhere to instructions easily, while others prefer ingenious candidates who are more individualistic in nature. In my opinion, Employing inventing people who can autonomously deal with tasks is a pragmatic hiring decision. Firstly, Originality and flair for innovation are prerequisites for many job positions. Self-reliant and innovating individuals thrive in providing unconventional solutions and products using their resourcefulness which allows them to devise novel solutions. Creativity does not mean expressing itself in the nature of one’s work, it also finds expression in managerial styles, allowing individual employees to contribute their ideas and vision. Such ingenious workers will also require minimum supervision, saving a lot of time, and money for the organisation. On the other hand, those who think that companies should go for people who are capable of working in a team and supporting others’ opinions, give the following reasons. Firstly, even if an employee is innovative, they should still have the team playing ability which is essential for a company’s growth. It is quite true that employers always give priority to applicants who are experts in both skills. Secondly, most companies have multiple departments, which can only be operated relatively stably, if their employees are working in a team and considering each other’s opinions. To conclude, while people debate on various types of aspects to evaluate at the time of hiring employees, I believe that innovative ideas, team playing skills, and the ability to cooperate /collaborate are the important factors that should be considered by recruiters when employing people.