Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food clothes and environment is likely to result in a society individuals who only think about their own wishes other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Parenting is a huge problem which present-day parents face in the modern busy world. In this,regard some parents think allowing children to take their own decisions will cultivate selfishness among them and others believe it's needed for their development. However, in my opinion, they both are significant and need to do in a balanced way. To commence with, allowing children to be independent will improve their personality and it is very important for them to tackle problems which will occur later in their lives. For,example we see many news articles about suicide attempts of university students nowadays. When we go deep into these problems, most of them are incapable of managing the stress due to spoon-feeding by their parents and not allowing them to take their own considerations in their childhood. Hence, in this,aspect it's better to allow children to decide their own life. On the other hand,they are not mature enough to separate good from bad and they will make their way out according to their ego.That can lead to many disastrous consequences in their later life.For example if young allowed to eat too much sugar as they wish, can lead to noncommunicable diseases later in their life. Other than that, the independent decision-making process will generate the bad habit of selfishness among them. It can be disastrous for themselves and for the society. The economic collapse in Sri Lanka due to politicians' self-serving agendas Provides a great example of that. On the above,points it is important for parents to involve in deciding what is good for their children. In conclusion, we have to develop self-esteem among youngsters, but it should be a monitored process not to create selfishness among them.