Houses are essential for people. Some people think that the government should offer free houses for people who cannot afford to pay for it. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Houses play a pivotal role in human life, however, in this day and age, housing prices are soaring due to inflation and recession. To tackle the problem, many individuals propose the idea that the government should provide free apartments to those who cannot afford it. From my point of view, I stand against this statement, and the following essay is going to strengthen my point. First and foremost, the government might have to divert a huge amount of resources and effort into providing free real estate. To put this in a simple way, nowadays many cannot afford an apartment without applying for a loan from banks or receiving financial assistance from their parents, thus creating a generation struggling to purchase a house to settle down. This issue is dire, especially among the young, whose salaries are barely enough to pay the bills. For instance, the housing price in Hanoi has increased tremendously during the past ten years, which has become a financial obstacle for young adults, leaving them with no choices other than renting an apartment. Moreover, providing real estate to individuals who cannot afford it could cause dissatisfaction among citizens. This is due to the fact that, while many could benefit from this program, others may not receive this special treatment from the authority, especially when two people come from the same background, nevertheless, which might raise several questions about the criteria applied when providing free houses. This could also lead to an issue in which people become too reliant on free flats from the government. For example, instead of working hard and saving money to buy a house, people can now waste money on trivial things, while waiting for free housing from the authority. In conclusion, offering free housing for folks who cannot afford it may not be an effective solution to tackle the housing issue, due to the amount of resources that the state might divert into constructing buildings for free flats and the dissatisfaction it might cause among citizens. For these reasons, I strongly believe that the authority could find another way to solve this dire situation.