In the 20th century, contact between many different parts of the world developed rapidly through the telecommunication and air travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology as well as air travel have been quickly developed in the 20th century to connect society around the world. I argue it has more positive impacts compared to the negative effect. Since the development of the telephone, people can easily reach out to their relatives who live on different islands or countries on the same day. It becomes more sophisticated when the video call feature is added by the telecommunication company. Hence, the community are not only able to make a phone call and to listening the voice of their family or friends, but also see their faces. The only medium that separates them from communicating is just their devices. However, this form of communication is reducing the use of letters or postcards which takes some time until it is received by the person we are aiming at. Another positive impact is the invention of aeroplanes to make travelling becomes faster than before it was invented. Aeroplane makes the mobility of people, goods and services become more efficient and this helps improve the country's economy. An island like Bali for instance, relies on the tourism industry and when more aeroplane routes open directly to Bali, more tourism comes. In turn, it will help the economy of the island to grow. Finally, it can be argued that the development of telecommunication and air travel is making life easier as it is a safe time to communicate and travel.