Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects?

Right from time immemorial, the field of art is an integral part of any community, as it helps people to connect with their cultural background. As much as I find art crucial to be incorporated into the school curriculum, I also believe other subjects should be considered. I will dilate on this topic in the next few paragraphs. On the one hand, it appears to me that this course should be taught at the foundational level in our schools because it entails dance, music, and costumes which convey important information. Firstly, artists from different countries sometimes sing in their local dialect which serves as a symbol of identity with their origin. Secondly, our wear can single-handedly tell people where we are coming from. Lastly, dancing is commonly used as a sign of communication among people of the same ethnicity. All these can only be learnt in school, and is the onus of the tutors to let students know their values. On the other hand, kids should also be allowed to have a taste of other disciplines such as science as it would enable them to understand their environment. Simply put, it is very paramount for youngsters to have deep knowledge of the fast-evolving technology in other to know what is happening in the modern day. For instance, they should be enlightened about their health in order to avoid common infections that can cut their lives short. To exemplify, the Ghanaian government has made it mandatory for all junior schools to take science as one of the major subjects with art when they experienced the pandemic coronavirus infection. Again, the use of computers is becoming rampant, and it is very necessary for them to learn how to operate this artificial intelligence in other to compete with their foreign counterpart in years to come. Therefore, other subjects are also essential. To conclude, the advantages of learning crafts in school kids cannot be overemphasized, however, other specialities should also be made compulsory because of their impacts in today's world.