It is true that whilst many people use their public parks, this space could be used for other purposes, such as building houses for young people or developing a business area to create jobs. Explain to what extent you agree or disagree with this statement.

Recreational activities are one of the necessities of human beings and public parks are one great source of it. However, a big fraction of people believe that these areas, if used for other purposes, can provide better services for people. I, personally, highly disagree with this opinion. They not only serve the purpose of fresh air providing places but also serve as meeting places for the neighbourhood. First of all, such greener areas are very useful for exercise, jogging, playing games, cycling etc. In short, they provide every single member of society, no matter how old or young he or she is, with an opportunity to get a break from regular responsibilities and enjoy his or her hobbies or favourite activities. They are free of cost so individuals are more comfortable visiting them. Secondly, many of the pupils who are not able to meet and greet their neighbours on regular bases because of their hectic schedule can easily get the chance to meet them in such parks while enjoying their own activities. This way, they can save time and enjoy both social and personal lives in such a small place altogether. They can even find individuals with the same interests and can be friends with them. It creates a bond that is otherwise hard to find in this fast pace world. In conclusion, it can be safely stated that these parks supply a better source of happiness that offices and buildings, if build in such places, can never produce. So instead of converting them to something else, these should be reserved and protected.