Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The rapid growth of industrialization and the transportation sector in the last few decades has led to increasing demand for nonrenewable sources of energy, especially gas and oil. This phenomenon encouraged people to locate new sources of energy in regions which are far away and never have been exploited beforehand. To begin with, for hundreds of years, humans have been using fossil fuels as the most popular energy. Over time, the demand for this type of energy continues to increase, so some people opine that we need to look for it in some parts of the world, for example in the polar regions. By exploiting this area, the dependency on energy sources in a region which are explored for many years will be reduced, such as Venezuela, Saudi Arabia, and the USA. Besides, economic activities around the globe are able to continue and it will lead to sustainable economic growth and provide job opportunities as well. However, new exploration in polar regions jeopardizes the ecosystem because it will deliver an adverse impact on animals inhabiting it and treat their existence, for instance, penguins and polar bears. Moreover, it will lead to an increase in fossil fuel consumption and create more pollution in the atmosphere and accelerate the global warming process. Based on data released by the government, exhaust fumes from fossil fuel has contributed to 80% of pollutant on our planet. In conclusion, I contend that the new exploration of fossil fuel in remote areas gives more detrimental consequences to our planet than benefits offered and we need to look for a source of energy that does not harmful to our planet and more sustainable in the long run.