Some people believe that international trade and communication with other countries is a positive trend, while others think it is harmful to nations and they might lose their identities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions vary on the topic of exchanging goods, businesses and information between countries across the globe. While some contend that it is a beneficial move as a country can build its economic status and could socially expand, others counter that such a trend could harm a nation’s identity. From my perspective, I agree with the former view as the merits outweigh the demerits. Firstly, building professional and social relationships with other nations can expand the chances of a country establishing its place in the international market. For example, many developing economies grow their businesses by exporting goods worldwide, where they can not only accommodate a great amount of abroad investments but increase tax revenues. This helps to raise public money for improving the living standards of the country, thus getting rid of poverty for millions of populations. Secondly, international communication can enable people from different backgrounds to have a better understanding of each other, which could reduce the chance of conflicts among countries. Despite these advantages, opponents concern about the identity of a nation that can be eliminated by trading and communicating internationally. This is because people will mix their cultures, living styles and languages if they are influenced by other civilizations, which may destroy the national uniqueness and individuality. For instance, India is known for its multi-culture civilization, but in the past few decades, many languages have been extinguished due to the major use of international languages everywhere. However, it does not automatically mean that the national identity would lose out to other cultures. After all, cultural exchanges contribute greatly to the advancement of a civilization. In conclusion, trading and communicating among countries worldwide offer a range of opportunities and benefits, and it is a favourable direction for us all.