A lot of people who wanted to become professional athletes gave up this idea because of the fear of failure and parents' pressure. Do you think that parents should support their children who want to do a career in sports? Support your point of view with relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, sports are not in the expected career paths of traditional families. For that reason, thousands of teenagers give up on their dreams of becoming professional athletes. For some, it is a very reasonable decision, as conventional jobs offer more stability and less competitiveness. However, in my opinion, parents should provide more support to their children when chasing their dreams. This essay will expose reasons and examples for supporting my perspective. On the one hand, sports careers involve an enormous risk. This is shown by the fact that they are the most competitive in the world and there is room for only a few to succeed. For instance, only the top 100 ranked Tennis players make enough money to sustain themselves, the rest have side jobs. Thus, it is understandable that parents do not want to assume such a gigantic risk and prefer conventional career paths for their children. On the other hand, kids should be allowed to pursue their dreams. Successful sportsmen are those who received all the help that their parents could give them. Names such as Lionel Messi or Kilian Jornet are living proof that this is true. For that reason, despite the fact that it is very risky, these difficulties can be diminished when young athletes are receiving full parental support. Parents should not impose barriers to their sons' and daughters' life goals, they should boost them. In conclusion, although chances are extremely low, all children should be free to pursue a career in sports, as when their parents help them enough, their chances skyrocket. Therefore, from my perspective, parents should provide all resources and help they can to their youngsters.