Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

Nowadays an overwhelming amount of citizens are not acquainted with people subsisting near their homes. This essay will outline feasible reasons like the lack of free time of modern people and some cultural patterns of behaviour towards neighbours in some countries associated with this issue. Moreover, this piece of writing will propose several solutions like the organization of public events for locals by the government, as well as, regular discussions about districts` problems among neighbours to avoid this problem. One of the reasons for this phenomenon is that contemporary individuals are extremely immersed in their tense working days. In other words, such people do not possess enough time, mental power and energy to devote them to any communication with neighbours. Moreover, an employee can accommodate in a region with the high theft rate. Therefore, this individual is not eager to spend his time with those, who reside near him, since neighbours can steal some precious items from his apartment or house. Furthermore, citizens in some states have not formed a habit to converse with their neighbours on a regular basis. This happens as some norms of such regions estimate the friendly behaviour towards neighbours as a suspicious one. The prime example could be Russian residents, who do not know their neighbours, as the vast bulk of people in this region avoid any conversations with people, who are not their friends, relatives and colleagues. It is apparent that the introduction of public educative and informative courses can boost human beings` desire to make friends with their neighbours. These classes orchestrated by local authorities and devoted to cooking, planting and other household activities will flawlessly unite individuals living close to each other. Following this, common events, which gather all neighbours together, will prompt them to know each other. During such occasions residents will have heated discussions about prospective modifications of their districts, which will exert a positive influence on their behavior towards each other. For instance, American residents accommodating the same area attend the aforementioned meetings once a month, which enable them to lead common prosperous and thriving lives in the places, where they live. To conclude, I insist that cultural prejudices and the lack of spare time inhibit neighbours from knowing each other. Therefore, classes with locals` participation and common problems to solve can tackle this social problem.