Advertising is becoming more and more common in everyday life. Some people say that the influence of advertising is dangerous for people's lives and should be regulated. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether the impact of advertising should be controlled has been a topic of interest. One school of thought holds that advertising activities do more harm than good for our lives. In this essay, I will elaborate on my disagreement with that view. On one hand, it is understandable why many people subscribe to the view that the influence of advertising should be alleviated. One valid reason is that nowadays, in the light of the internet, there is a wide range of uncensored advertisements which may take a toll on children's development. To be specific, this kind of advertisement may contain toxic content such as nudity, leading to incite premature interest in the opposite sex. On the other hand, there is a host of compelling reasons why I firmly believe that the impact of advertising has a good role to play in our societies. One key rationale is that advertising could indirectly boost economic growth. This is because advertisements have a far-reaching effect, therefore, they could be used as an effective tool to captivate the attention of people. It is apparent that the more people know about specific products, the more potential customer goes up, contributing to increasing sales and revenue. Another justification is that advertising is helpful in the survival of communication media, namely newspapers, magazines and so on. It is evident that these media of information keep society informed, however, they could not survive if they do not get the support of revenue from advertising. Hence, as long as advertising has a wide-ranging influence, the process of transmitting information is not inclined to be interrupted. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that the profound impact of advertising somehow can do young generation development a disservice, I would contend that the aforementioned economic and social benefits should be considered carefully.