Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many online learning platforms are used by universities all over the world instead of traditional face-to-face classes. In my opinion, despite the particular downsides of this new method, I am still more inclined towards the benefits that it brings. Firstly, one of the most significant features of online classes is that students from anywhere can gain access to courses offered by top universities. For example, last summer I took an online course offered by Oxford University and I did not have to undergo the enormous expenses of going and living abroad. Secondly, these classes are recorded and students can replay them as many times as they wish to understand the whole point with no time limitation. These recorded files can also help students take notes from subjects discussed in class more easily. In addition, while attending a class, students may come up with a question or even not know the meaning of a term or sentence, so they can search for that through the internet without distracting others or disrupting the class. Furthermore, by taking online courses, students are able to attend class wherever they want. For instance, they can participate in a class in a quiet place like a library to stay focused and have access to many books. Moreover, internet-based courses can help students not to miss their classes during crises. For example, while COVID-19 was spreading all around the world, online courses took the place of face-to-face ones. Therefore, students could participate in their classes at their own home. In conclusion, online learning in tertiary education is a positive trend that could help students to improve their learning results.